Baby Steps.

The smallest of achievements are the best accomplishments. Physio KILLED me this week. Oh. my .god. I feel horrendous but it’ll be worth it in the long run…I did good though- I pushed myself hard (maybe too much) but I walked 4 lengths on the parallel bars and that is ALOT for me! It wasn’t exactly smooth, a lot of jolts, swaying everywhere, almost passed out and Lotsss of pain, but I managed it. The most I’ve walked in 5 months!! Balance is not quite there yet, and my coordination is soooo bad!! (it’s actually shocking, especially for a dancer!!) but I’m putting more weight through my legs which is a good sign, and not relying on my arms so much anymore to take my weight. Of course that achievement was on a somewhat ‘good’ day, my body doesn’t allow me to do that everyday because of random bouts of paralysis, flares and general weakness (how inappropriate!). But it happened once, and even if I have a dodgy couple of days or weeks of not being able to walk, I know I can get back up, fight and accomplish it again when my body’s ready!! Such a great feeling. But seriously, can I have a body transplant or something please, and preferably one with no pain receptors.. 
This achievement maybe small, but it’s a huge victory. It may not mean anything to healthy people. Although not intentionally,they take things for granted. Why? They haven’t lost the things chronically Ill people have. Whether it’s migrating from the bed to the sofa or having a shower and sitting up for a while, they’re all small accomplishments, but enormous victories!!

Leave a Reply

